Home > Lifestyle > The Seven Natural Wonders of Africa

The Seven Natural Wonders of Africa

Africa is home to some of the most beautiful, captivating and breathtaking natural beauty. For long people have been used to the list of the seven wonders of the world. In February 2013, new seven wonders of nature in Africa were announced in Arusha, Tanzania. Below is a list of the incredible seven wonders of Africa filled with rich wildlife, varied landscapes, and a picturesque fauna and flora:

7. The Red Sea Reef

The Red Sea Reef is an inlet of seawater in the Indian Ocean that is located between Asia and Africa. stretches over 1,240 miles along the coast of Egypt, Sudan, and Eritrea. There are more than 1,100 species of fish that call this Red Sea Reef home and nearly 10% of these are exclusive to this region. The reef features include abundant aquatic life, platforms, lagoons, and cylinders.

6. Ngorongoro Crater

The Ngorongoro Crater is the world’s largest unbroken caldera. It is the main feature of the Ngorongoro Conservation Area, a World Heritage Site located west of Arusha in Tanzania.It’s is referred to as “Africa’s Garden of Eden.” The crater is 12 miles (19 km) across and covers 102 square miles (264 sq km) It rises over 2,000 feet above the caldera floor. It’s home to over 30,000 animals including the rare black rhino.

5. Okavango Delta


The Okavango Delta is argued as the world’s largest inland delta. The delta is created from the rains that fill the Okavango River which is delivered to the basin of the Kalahari Desert. This is caused from the rainy season that occurs between January and February. The waters begin filling the delta in March and rising to the peak months of July and August. The region hosts a great diversity of wildlife including the African bush elephant, hippopotamus, South African cheetah, Southwest African lion, African buffalo, greater kudu, rhinoceroses, chacma baboon, and more. Due to its magnificence and scale, the Okavango Delta has been declared as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

4. Serengeti Migration

The Serengeti migration is the longest and largest over land migration in the world. The Serengeti plains account for over 18,641 square miles and the migration itself travels 500 miles on the path from Tanzania to the Masai Mara Reserve in Kenya. Approximately 80% of the Seregeti plains are protected by the Tanzanian and Kenyan governments. Each year witnesses the circular great wildebeest migration in Serengeti. The migration begins in Tanzania’s southern Serengeti’s Ngorongoro Conservation Area. Between January and March nearly 260,000 zebras, 1.7 million wildebeest, 470,000 gazelles, and other plains game begin migrating. By about February, these animals start grazing on the short grass plains of Serengeti’s southeastern section and give birth to about 500,000 calves. The end of rains in May trigger the movement of animals northwest, and they stop in the region around the Grumeti River till late June. In late July to August, the herds arrive and stay in Kenya. The great migration is an eventful journey that witnesses both the birth and death of the migrants. Nearly 250,000 wildebeest die during the journey due to thirst, hunger, and predation.

3. Sahara Desert

Being the largest hot desert in the world, it covers a total of eleven countries and covers 3, 500, 000 square miles. The sand dunes reach a height of 180 metres. The arid desert is not completely lifeless. Several species of fox, addax, dama gazelle, Saharan cheetah, monitor lizard, sand vipers, African wild dog, red-necked ostrich, desert crocodiles, Saharan silver ant, dromedary camels, and goats call the Sahara Desert their home. The desert is also home to several wandering tribes or nomads while some settlements can be found in the oases of the desert. Several tourist activities like camping, wildlife-viewing, cultural tours, and camel rides, are arranged in certain sections of the Sahara Desert under expert guidance by those who know the desert well.

2. Mount Kilimanjaro

Located in Tanzania, just south of the border between Tanzania and Kenya, Mount Kilimanjaro is one of the largest stratovolcanoes in the world reaching 19,340 feet (5,895 m) into the air. As the tallest mountain in Africa, Mount Kilimanjaro is also the tallest free standing mountain in the world. Kilimanjaro is a composite volcano that includes layers of lava, tephra, and volcanic ash. The volcano is currently inactive with no known history of eruptions. Mount Kilimanjaro has seven distinctive peaks with Uhuru Peak accounting for the mountains highest elevation at 19,341 feet (5,895 m). A 1.5 mile wide crater is featured as part of the Kibo portion of the mountain. The high elevation and proximity to the equator allows visitors to experience a variety of climate types. Kilimanjaro also features a year round snow-topped peak. Although the volcano is isolated, it is part of the line of volcanoes that reach across northern Tanzania.

1. Nile River

The longest river in the world makes this list complete and perfect. The 4,145 Nile is shared by 11 countries of the world, and in Sudan and Egypt, it is the primary source of water for the entire populations. The Nile Rive ends in a large delta before draining into the Mediterranean Sea in Egypt. It is this river that gave birth to and nurtured the Egyptian civilization and the Sudanese kingdoms. Most of the major historical and cultural sites of Egypt are thus based along the banks of the Nile River.



You may also like
#IAmCreativeForAfrica: Talking Creative Entreprenuership with Osse Greca Sinare
Senegal Give Africans A Glimmer of Hope At The World Cup
Time for African to be united. Africa needs unity. A united Africa. Africa day.
The Time For Africa To Be United More Than Ever
New Music : Buffalo Souljah ft DJ Cleo x Bizizi

4 Responses

  1. Pingback : Africans Should Care More About Africa – African Curators

Leave a Reply